Category: News

Memorial Weekend hours announced for DWU

Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Memorial Weekend hours announced for DWU

South Dakota Workforce: It’s a Both/And Proposition

Monday, May 11, 2015
President Amy Novak of Dakota Wesleyan University promotes the importance of a both/and proposition for the state -- stressing the importance of both technical education and four-year programs.

Employees honored, retirees recognized at DWU breakfast

Thursday, May 7, 2015
Dakota Wesleyan University took time Wednesday to honor and recognize employees for their years of service, their credit to the university and to say farewell to those moving on to the next phase in their lives.

DWU announces Van Zee as new Kelley Center director

Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Dakota Wesleyan University announced Monday that Dr. Ryan Van Zee has been hired as the new director of the Kelley Center for Entrepreneurship.

DeVaney receives Bishop Armstrong Peace and Justice Award

Sunday, May 3, 2015
Andrew DeVaney, a senior at Dakota Wesleyan University, was named this year’s recipient of the Bishop Armstrong Peace and Justice Award during DWU’s Baccalaureate service Sunday.

Luckett named this year’s recipient of Clarke Award for Teaching Excellence

Sunday, May 3, 2015
Jerry Luckett was awarded the prestigious Clarke Award for Teaching Excellence on Sunday during Dakota Wesleyan University’s Commencement services.

Author, illustrator for children’s book, ‘All That a Moo Can Do,’ set book-signing

Thursday, April 30, 2015
McGovern Center director Dr. Alisha Vincent, author, and DWU student Dyrani Clark, illustrator, will be available to sign copies of “A Moo For You/What A Moo Can Do” from 9 to 11 a.m., Saturday, May 2, at Cornerstone Café, East Third Avenue, Mitchell.

DWU students recognized for scholastic achievement during Honors Banquet

Monday, April 27, 2015
Many Dakota Wesleyan University students were honored on Friday, April 24, for the 2014-15 Honors Banquet held on campus.

DWU announces faculty promotions, tenure

Monday, April 27, 2015

Six faculty and staff members at Dakota Wesleyan University were recognized at the Honors Banquet Friday for promotion, tenure or degree advancement.



Joan Lubben was promoted to associate professor of mathematics and granted tenure. Lubben has been teaching at DWU since 2009. She received her bachelor’s degree in geology from Rice University, and her Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.







Christine Mauszychi was promoted to assistant professor of accounting. She was also recognized for earning a Masters of Professional Accountancy from the University of South Dakota. Mauszycki has been teaching at DWU since 2010. She earned her bachelor’s degree in accounting from DWU and is a certified CPA in South Dakota.








L. Brian Patrick was promoted to associate professor of biology and granted tenure. He has been teaching at DWU since 2009. Patrick earned his bachelor’s degree and his Master of Arts degree in biology – systematics and ecology – from the University of Kansas, and his Ph.D. in ecology from Kent State University.








Lori Bork, a nursing professor, earned a Doctorate in Education with a specialization in online teaching and learning from Northcentral University. Bork has been teaching nursing at DWU since 2001. She received her Associate of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees from DWU, and her Master of Science from South Dakota State University.








Diana Goldammer, director of student life, earned a Doctorate in Higher Education Leadership from Walden University. Goldammer has been at DWU since 2006, first in university relations before moving to student life in 2009. She received her bachelor’s degree in English and secondary education from Augustana College, and her master’s degree in business communications from Jones International University.





Amy Novak, DWU president, earned a Doctorate in Interdisciplinary Leadership from Creighton University. Novak has been with DWU since 2003, serving in many positions, including provost and executive vice president since 2008, and named the university’s president in 2013. She earned her bachelor’s degree in history from the University of Notre Dame and a master’s degree in economics from Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio.


DWU announces summer hours

Monday, April 27, 2015

Dakota Wesleyan University will begin observing summer hours on Monday, May 18.


All campus offices will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. The McGovern Library will observe the following summer hours: 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Java City will be closed all summer and reopen when classes are back in session.


DWU will return to regular hours on Aug. 3.
< Previous Page Next Page >
Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
© 2015 Dakota Wesleyan University

South Dakota Website Design and Development