DWU president receives Creighton’s Seagren-Joekel-Ihrig Award

Friday, April 24, 2015
Creighton University’s Doctoral Program in Interdisciplinary Leadership honored DWU President Amy Novak with its inaugural Seagren-Joekel-Ihrig Award for Best Interdisciplinary Leadership Dissertation.

Honorary doctorate, speaker announced for DWU’s 2015 Commencement

Friday, April 24, 2015
Baccalaureate will begin at 9:30 a.m. Sunday, May 3, at the Sherman Center on campus, and Commencement is set for 1 p.m. at the Corn Palace with 237 graduates. The Nurses’ Pinning Ceremony is set for 4 p.m., Saturday, May 2, in the Sherman Center.

Scotchman and Miss Wesleyan winners announced at DWU

Friday, April 24, 2015
Katie Johnson and Andrew DeVaney, seniors at Dakota Wesleyan University, were named Miss Wesleyan and Scotchman, the university’s highest honors, at a special banquet Friday night at the university.

DWU names Exemplary Teacher honoree for 2015

Friday, April 24, 2015
Ashley Digmann, a mathematics instructor at DWU, was the recipient of this year’s Exemplary Teacher Award.

Digmann to step into role of education department chairman at DWU

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Ashley Digmann, of Parkston, is a DWU alumna and an instructor of mathematics at the university. She will take on the role of education department chairwoman this summer.

Catalano named dean of College of Healthcare, Fitness and Science at DWU

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Dr. Mike Catalano, professor of mathematics and math department chair, will serve as interim dean through the accreditation process for the university.

Dakota Wesleyan’s Service Day set for Tuesday

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
This is the sixth year that Dakota Wesleyan has organized Service Day – a morning when the entire campus comes together to perform community service projects on campus and around the entire community, including the Huron campus. At least 565 participants are signed up for the day, with another 14 vo....

‘Finance Wrangler’ and English Major Ready to Earn M.B.A. at DWU

Monday, April 20, 2015

Heidi Ray Molitor wears many hats—from advanced medical support assistant at the VA to serving as “finance wrangler” for her husband’s fifth-generation family ranch to coaching cross country and track teams at Hot Springs High School. She’s also a photographer in her “spare time.”

This summer, she’ll put on another hat: student in the fully online Master of Business Administration degree program at Dakota Wesleyan University.

“I feel like I need a little push, a little more panache behind my degree,” says Heidi, 28, of Smithwick, S.D. “An M.B.A., with my current English degree from DWU could potentially be a great addition to any employer, as well as aiding in leadership abilities applicable to nearly any field of service.”

Heidi chose to return to her alma mater for her M.B.A. because “DWU is highly valued by local employees for its education and its reputation in equipping ethical leaders,” she says.

“I am particularly excited that this program is geared for small- and medium-sized businesses, preparing me to be successful in the rural area in which I live,” Heidi adds. “I am specifically interested in this program because of its emphasis in entrepreneurial and strategic leadership in business.”

On the family ranch, she is responsible for the operational funds and bookwork involved with tax preparation. “I feel that an M.B.A. will greatly assist me in this area of my personal life as a rancher’s wife as I have much to gain in business knowledge.”

She also has another long-term goal in mind: Starting a photography business, along with a coffeehouse and bakery.

“I believe that an M.B.A., specifically with the strategic leadership and entrepreneurial slant, will lend a wealth of flexible and applicable knowledge that will make me stand out, especially backed with my bachelor’s degree in English. It is precisely this flexibility that will make me more marketable.”

Ready to strengthen your undergraduate degree—or earn your bachelor’s degree? In addition to our M.B.A., DWU also offers the following online degree programs:

Questions? Need more information? Please email me.

Amber Turner

Online Admissions Counselor

CategoriesBlog: Online Degrees @ DWU, News,

DWU’s Megan Johnson to display research at Posters on the Hill

Friday, April 17, 2015
Megan Johnson, of Dakota Wesleyan University, has been selected to present her research on Capitol Hill on April 22-23.

Vermillion man wins first ever McGovern South Dakota Hunger Ambassador Award

Wednesday, April 15, 2015
John Lushbough, of Vermillion was named this year’s McGovern South Dakota Hunger Ambassador Award-winner.
< Previous Page Next Page >
Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
© 2015 Dakota Wesleyan University

South Dakota Website Design and Development