Scholarship Day

2016 Scholarship Days at Dakota Wesleyan University

Friday, Jan. 29
Friday, Feb. 12

Each year, Dakota Wesleyan University recognizes academically successful high school seniors who display a strong talent for leadership and service, as well as a commitment to their faith and church.  Scholarship recipients are chosen on a competitive basis.  Both dates will have the same schedule and intention; attendance at one of the days is required for those competing for one of the named scholarships below.  All participants will have a personal interview with DWU faculty, staff and students during Scholarship Day.

  • Randall Scholarship
    Randall Scholarships, the highest academic award at Dakota Wesleyan University, have been awarded for more than 25 years.  Randall Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to academically successful high school seniors who display a strong talent for leadership and service. Students must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and 24 ACT or 1090 SAT to compete. A limited number of Randall Scholars will be named each year.
  • McGovern Legacy Scholarship
    George McGovern graduated from DWU in 1946, and he was the university’s most famous alumnus.  Created by the Friends of McGovern ’72 Campaign, the goal of the McGovern Scholarship is to honor the late senator and presidential candidate, as well as the 1972 presidential campaign volunteers, while educating and inspiring future generations of student activists to volunteerism and public service. The McGovern Legacy Scholarship is a prestigious and competitive scholarship awarded to one outstanding high school senior who demonstrates exemplary leadership and service to her/his local, regional or global communities. Students must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and 24 ACT or 1090 SAT to compete.
  • Bishop Leadership Award
    An award of $14,000 is available to a high school senior United Methodist student who demonstrates strong commitment to youth leadership in her/his local church and pledges to be active in student ministry at DWU. The applicant must be a member of a United Methodist Church and have a 3.0 GPA and 21 ACT.  A limited number of Bishop Leadership Award recipients will be named each year.  This award is renewable.
  • Presidential Leadership Scholarship
    Presidential Leadership Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to academically successful high school seniors who display a strong talent for leadership and service, have a minimum 3.0 GPA and 21 ACT or 980 SAT score.  A limited number of Presidential Leadership Scholars will be named each year.

Additional information about scholarships and dollar amounts can be found here.

 For all scholarships
  • Apply for admission to Dakota Wesleyan University at
  • Complete and submit the Scholarship Day registration form below.
  • Submit a service/leadership resume.

The McGovern Legacy Scholarship and the Bishop Leadership Award have additional requirements:

Bishop Leadership Award

  • Submit a cover letter with a faith statement addressing where you are in your faith journey and how you think Dakota Wesleyan University can guide and assist you in your journey.
  • Submit a certification of United Methodist Church Membership
  • Include one letter of recommendation from your senior pastor, youth pastor or a church member

McGovern Legacy Scholarship

  • Submit a cover letter addressing your approach to modeling civic engagement.
  • Submit a letter of recommendation from a supervisor or other professional associate.

All Scholarship Day documentation must be received by the DWU Admissions Office by Jan. 22, 2016.

Documentation should be submitted to:

Dakota Wesleyan University

Admissions Office

1200 W. University Ave.

Mitchell, SD 57301


Scholarship Day Registration Form
First Name:
Last Name:
Mailing Address:
Home Phone:
Cell Phone:
Email Address:
High School:
Intended Academic Program:
Extracurricular Interests:
Please indicate which Scholarship Day you intend to participate in:

Will either of your parents be attending with you? Please list names:
Which scholarship/s do you intend to compete for? You can compete for more than one; students may receive only one renewable scholarship (Randall, McGovern Legacy, John Wesley, Trustee, Presidential Leadership, Presidential or Bishop Leadership) per year:

Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
The Chronicle of Higher Education named Dakota Wesleyan University one of the “Great Colleges to Work For®” for 2014-2015. DWU won honors in three categories: facilities, workspace and security, and supervisor/department chair relationship.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
© 2015 Dakota Wesleyan University

South Dakota Website Design and Development