Smith Hall

Smith Hall is home to the many offices and classrooms, including:

  • President Amy Novak
  • Executive Vice President Theresa Kriese
  • Vice President of University Relations, Lori Essig
  • Provost Dr. Rocky Von Eye
  • Dean of Graduate Studies, Dr. Ed Plastow
  • Dean of the College of Leadership and Public Service, Jesse Weins
  • Associate Dean of Digital Learning, Dr. Derek Driedger
  • Business Department
  • Registrar's office
  • University relations
  • Computer Helpdesk/IT department
  • Computer labs
  • Music Department
  • Classrooms

Originally known as New College Hall, Smith Hall was built in 1956 after College Hall was destroyed by fire in 1955. Smith Hall is named after former president and alumnus Matthew D. Smith and his wife, Loretta. Smith graduated from Wesleyan in 1912 and served as president from 1952-58.

Visitor ParkingComing to visit the president? Amy Novak's office is in Smith Hall and is easily accessible from the parking lot on McCabe Street.

Dakota Wesleyan University was named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. This designation is the highest honor a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service-learning and civic engagement.
Dakota Wesleyan University is proudly affiliated with the Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church. Members of any and all faiths are welcome and encouraged to experience an education based on learning, leadership, faith and service.
Dakota Wesleyan University has been honored as a College of Distinction through demonstration of excellence in these areas: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant communities and successful outcomes.
Dakota Wesleyan University
1200 W. University Ave
Mitchell, SD 57301
© 2015 Dakota Wesleyan University

South Dakota Website Design and Development