Academic Calendar

Summer 2017

May 1-June 25 – Summer Session I – 8-Week
May 8-June 19 – Summer Summer I – 6-Week
Monday, May 29 – Memorial Day, no classes, offices closed
Friday, June 23 – Spring incomplete grades due
June 26-Aug. 20 – Summer Session II – 8-Week 
June 26-Aug. 7 – Summer Session II – 6-Week
Tuesday, July 4 – Independence Day, no classes, offices closed

Fall 2017

Friday and Monday, Aug. 18 and 21 – Business Office Finalization
Friday-Sunday, Aug. 18-20 – New Student Orientation
Sunday, Aug. 20 – All College Church
Monday, Aug. 21 – Classes Begin at 8 a.m.
Thursday, Aug. 24 – Opening Convocation
Friday, Aug. 25 – Last Day for Unrestricted Add/Drop
Friday, Sept. 1 – Last Day for Restricted Add/Drop
Monday, Sept. 4 – Labor Day, No Classes, Offices Closed
Friday, Sept. 8 – Summer Incomplete Grades Due
Saturday, Sept. 30 – Homecoming
Monday, Oct. 9 – Fall Break Day, No Classes
Friday, Oct. 13 – Midterm Grades Due
Friday, Oct. 27 – Last Day for CR/NC
Monday, Oct. 30 – Registration for Spring and Summer Semesters Begin
Friday, Nov. 17 – Last Day for Withdraw
Friday, Nov. 17 – Thanksgiving Break Begins at 10 p.m.
Monday-Friday, Nov. 20-24 – Thanksgiving Break
Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 22-24 – Thanksgiving, Offices Closed
Monday, Nov. 27 – Classes Resume at 8 a.m.
Thursday, Nov. 30 – May, June & August Graduation Applications Due
Monday-Friday, Dec. 4-8 – Evening Finals
Monday, Dec. 11 – Last Day of Classes before Day Final Exams
Tuesday-Thursday, Dec. 12-14 – Day Classes Finals
Saturday, Dec. 16 – Grades Due
Monday-Monday, Dec. 25-Jan. 1 – Christmas and New Year Holidays, Offices Closed

Fall 2017 Finals Schedule

Tuesday, December 12
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m. 
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m. 
Wednesday, December 13
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m. 
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 9:30 a.m. 
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at noon and 12:30 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. 
Thursday, December 14
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon. 
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

Evening Finals – Monday-Friday, December 4-8

Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to your course syllabus

Spring 2018

Monday and Tuesday, Jan. 8 and 9 – Business Office Finalization
Monday, Jan. 8 – Classes Begin at 8 a.m.
Friday, Jan. 12 – Last Day for Unrestricted Add/Drop
Friday, Jan. 19 – Last Day for Restricted Add/Drop
Friday, Jan. 26 – Fall Incomplete Grades Due
Friday, March 2 – Midterm Grades Due
Friday, March 2 – Spring Break Begins at 10 p.m.
Monday, March 12 – Classes Resume at 8 a.m.
Friday, March 23 – Last Day for CR/NC
Monday, March 26 – Registration for Fall Semester Begins
Friday, March 30 – Good Friday, No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, April 2 – Easter Monday, No Classes
Tuesday, April 3  – December Graduation Applications Due
Wednesday, April 11 – Capstone Day
Friday, April 13 – Last Day for Withdraw
Monday-Friday, April 23-27 – Evening Final Exams
Friday, April 27 – Honors Convocation
Monday, April 30 – Last Day of Classes before Day Final Exams
Tuesday, May 1 – Service Day, No Classes
Wednesday-Friday, May 2-4 – Day Final Exams
Saturday, May 5 – Nursing Pinning at 3 p.m. in the Sherman Center
Saturday, May 5 – Baccalaureate at 7 p.m. in the Sherman Center
Sunday, May 6 – Commencement
Tuesday, May 8 – Grades Due

Spring 2018 Finals Schedule

Wednesday, May 2
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m. 
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m. 
Thursday, May 3
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 8 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. 
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 9:30 a.m. and noon.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday noon and 12:30 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. 
Friday, May 4
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

Evening Finals – Monday-Friday, April 23-27

Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to the course syllabus

Summer 2018

April 30-June 22 – Summer DL Session I – 8-Week (Adult & Professional)
May 7-June 18 – Summer May Session – 6-Week
Monday, May 28 – Memorial Day, No Classes, Offices Closed
Monday, June 4-July 27 – Summer June Session – 8-Week (Undergraduate)
Friday, June 22 – Spring Incomplete Grades Due
June 25-August 17 – Summer DL Session II – 8-Week (Adult & Professional)
June 25-August 6 – Summer July Session – 6-Week
Wednesday, July 4 – No classes, offices closed

The calendar is subject to change due to forces beyond the university's control or as deemed necessary by the university in order to fulfill its educational objectives.

Courses that do not begin and end within the normal session time frame, status dates will be adjusted accordingly.

Students must attend their course by the third day or their registration will be cancelled, unless the instructor gives permission otherwise. For online courses, students must log in to the course by the end of third day. 

Please call the numbers below for assistance with the following:

  • Registration (enrolling in a class, drop/add, withdrawal) – 605-995-2642 or 995-2647.
  • Billing - 605-995-2693.
  • Financial Aid - 605-995-2656.