Academic Calendar

Fall 2020 (w/ COVID-19 Restrictions Implemented)

Friday and Monday, Aug. 21 and 24 – Business Office Finalization

Friday- Sunday, Aug. 21-23 – New Student Orientation

Monday, Aug. 24 – Classes Begin at 8 a.m.

Friday, Aug. 28 – Last Day for Unrestricted-Adviser Signature Only-Add/Drop

Friday, Sept. 4 – Last Day for Restricted Add/Drop   

Friday, Sept. 11 – Summer Incomplete Grades Due

Saturday, Sept. 26 – Homecoming                                                     

Friday, Oct. 16 – Midterm Grades Due

Friday, Oct. 30 – Last Day for CR/NC

Monday, Oct. 26 – Registration for Spring and Summer Semesters Begins

Friday, Nov. 20 – Last Day for Withdraw 

Friday, Nov. 20 – Last Day of Face-to-Face Classes

Friday, Nov. 20 – Thanksgiving Break Begins at 5 p.m.

Monday-Friday, Nov. 23-27 – Thanksgiving Break

Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 25-27 – Thanksgiving, Offices Closed

Monday, Nov. 30 – Classes resume in Online Format

Monday, Nov. 30 – May, June & August Graduation Applications Due

Monday-Friday, Dec. 7-11 – Evening Finals

Monday-Wednesday, Dec. 14-16 – Day Classes Finals

Friday, Dec. 18 – Grades Due

December 24-January 1 – Christmas and New Year Holidays, Offices Closed

Fall 2020 Finals Schedule

Monday, December 14, 2020

8-10 a.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m.

10 a.m.-noon
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m.

1-3 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.

3-5 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m.

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

8-10 a.m.
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m.

10 a.m.-noon
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 9:30 a.m.

1-3 p.m.
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at noon and 12:30 p.m.

3-5 p.m.
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Wednesday, December 16, 2020

8-10 a.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m.

10 a.m.-noon
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m.

1-3 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon.

3-5 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

 

Evening Finals – Monday-Friday, December 7-11

Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to the course syllabus

Spring 2021 (late start date - COVID-19 taken into consideration)

Monday and Tuesday, Jan. 18, and 19 – Business Office Finalization

8 a.m. Monday, Jan. 18 – Classes Begin

Friday, Jan. 22 – Last Day for Unrestricted-Adviser Signature Only-Add/Drop

Friday, Jan. 29 – Last Day for Restricted Add/Drop 

Friday, Jan. 29 – Fall Incomplete Grades Due 

Friday, March 5 – Midterm Grades Due 

Friday, March 5 – Spring Break Begins at 10 p.m. 

Monday, March 15 – Classes Resume at 8 a.m. 

Monday, March 22 – Registration for Fall Semesters Begins

Thursday, April 1 – December Graduation Applications Due

Friday, April 2 – Good Friday, No Classes, Offices Closed

Monday, April 5 – Easter Monday, No Classes 

Friday, April 9 – Last Day for CR/NC

Wednesday, April 14 – Capstone Day 

Friday, April 16 – Last Day for Withdraw 

Monday-Friday, April 26-30 – Evening Final Exams

Friday, April 30 – Honors Convocation

Monday, May 3 – Last Day of Classes before Day Final Exams

Tuesday, May 4 – Great Wesleyan Giveback, No Classes

Wednesday-Friday, May 5-7 – Day Final Exams

Saturday, May 8 – Baccalaureate 

Sunday, May 9  – Commencement 

Tuesday, May 11 – Grades Due Tuesday, May 11

Spring 2020 Finals Schedule

Wednesday May 5

8-10 a.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m.

10 a.m.-noon
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m.

1-3 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.

3-5 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m.

Thursday May 6

8-10 a.m.
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m.

10 a.m.-noon
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 9:30 a.m. and noon.

1-3 p.m.
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday noon and 12:30 p.m.

3-5 p.m.
Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Friday May 7

8-10 a.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m.

10 a.m.-noon
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m.

1-3 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon.

3-5 p.m.
Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

 

Evening Finals – Monday-Friday, April 26-30

Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to the course syllabus

Summer 2021

May 3-June 25 – Summer DL Session I – 8-Week (Adult and professional)

May 17-June 25 – Summer May Session – 6-Week

Monday, May 31 – Memorial Day, No Classes, Offices Closed

June 1-July 26 – Summer June Session – 8-Week (Undergraduate)

Friday, June 19 – Spring Incomplete Grades Due

June 28-August 20 – Summer DL Session II – 8-Week (Adult and professional)

Monday, July 5 – Independence Day Observed, No Classes, Offices Closed

July 6-August 16 – Summer July Session – 6-Week

The calendar is subject to change due to forces beyond the university's control or as deemed necessary by the university in order to fulfill its educational objectives.

Courses that do not begin and end within the normal session time frame, status dates will be adjusted accordingly.

Students must attend their course by the third day or their registration will be cancelled, unless the instructor gives permission otherwise. For online courses, students must log in to the course by the end of third day. 

Please call the numbers below for assistance with the following:

  • Registration (enrolling in a class, drop/add, withdrawal) – 605-995-2642 or 995-2647.
  • Billing - 605-995-2693.
  • Financial Aid - 605-995-2656.