Academic Calendar

Summer 2016

Nursing May Term – May 9 – June 10, 2016

Monday, May 9 — First day of term
Monday, May 9 — Last day for unrestricted add/drop
Tuesday, May 10 — Last day for restriced add/drop
Friday, May 27 — Last day for Withdraw
Friday, June 10 — Last day of classes
Monday, May 30 — Memorial Day, no classes, offices closed

 6-Week Summer Session I - May 9 to June 20, 2016

Monday, May 9 – First day of classes
Tuesday, May 10 – Last day for unrestricted add/drop
Thursday, May 12 – Last day for restricted add/drop
Friday, May 27 – Last day for CR/NC
Monday, May 30 – Memorial Day - no classes, offices closed
Wednesday, June 8 – Last day for Withdraw
Tuesday, June 14 – Spring incomplete grades due
Monday, June 20 – Last day of classes
Wednesday, June 22 – Final grades due

6-Week Summer Session II - June 27 to August 8, 2016

Monday, June 27 – First day of classes
Tuesday, June 28 – Last day for unrestricted add/drop
Thursday, June 30 – Last day for restricted add/drop
Monday, July 4 – Fourth of July - no classes, offices closed
Friday, July 15 – Last day for CR/NC
Wednesday, July 27 – Last day for Withdraw
Monday, August 8 – Last day of classes
Wednesday, August 10 – Final grades due

8-Week Summer Session I – May 2 to June 24, 2016

Monday, May 2 – First day of classes
Wednesday, May 4 – Last day for add/drop
Friday, May 27 – Last day for Withdraw
Friday, June 24 – Last day of classes
Sunday, June 26 – Final grades due

8-Week Summer Session II – June 27 to August 19, 2016

Monday, June 27 – First day of classes
Wednesday, June 29 – Last day for add/drop
Friday, July 22 – Last day for Withdraw
Friday, August 19 – Last day of classes
Sunday, August 21 – Final grades due

Fall 2016

Friday and Monday, Aug. 19 and 22 – Business Office Finalization
Friday-Sunday, Aug. 19-21 – New Student Orientation
Sunday, Aug. 21 – All College Church
Monday, Aug. 22 – Classes begin at 8 a.m.
Friday, Aug. 26 – Last day for unrestricted add/drop
Friday, Sept. 2 – Last day for restricted add/drop
Monday, Sept. 5 – Labor Day, no classes, offices closed
Thursday, Sept. 15 – Opening Convocation
Saturday, Sept. 17 – Homecoming
Friday, Sept. 30 – Summer incomplete grades due
Monday, Oct. 10 – Fall Break day, no classes
Friday Oct. 14 – Midterm grades due
Monday, Oct. 31 – Registration for Spring and Summer semester begins
Friday, Nov. 18 – Last day for CR/NC
Friday, Nov. 18 – Last day for Withdraw
Friday, Nov. 18 – Thanksgiving Break begins at 10 p.m.
Monday-Friday, Nov. 21-25 – Academic Holiday
Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 23-25 – Offices closed for Thanksgiving holiday
Monday, Nov. 28 – Classes resume at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 30 – May, June & August Graduation applications due
Monday-Friday, Dec. 5-9 – Evening Finals
Monday, Dec. 12 – Last day of classes before day finals
Tuesday-Thursday, Dec. 13-15 – Day classes finals
Saturday, Dec. 17 – Grades due
Friday-Friday, Dec. 23-30 – Christmas and New Years holidays, offices closed

Fall 2016 Finals Schedule

Tuesday, December 13
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m. and NUR 200.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m.
Wednesday, December 14
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 9:30 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at noon and 12:30 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday that begin at 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 15
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m. and NUR 201 (Mitchell).
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

Evening and Online Finals – Monday-Friday, December 5-9

Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to the course syllabus

Spring 2017

Monday and Tuesday, Jan. 9 and 10 – Business Office finalization
Monday, Jan. 9 – Classes begin at 8 a.m.
Friday, Jan. 13 – Last day for unrestricted add/drop
Friday, Jan. 20 – Last day for restricted add/drop
Friday, Jan. 27 – Fall incomplete grades due
Friday, March 3 – Midterm grades due
Friday, March 3 – Spring Break begins at 10 p.m.
Monday, March 13 – Classes resume at 8 a.m.
Monday, March 20 – Registration for Fall Semester begins
Friday, March 31 – December Graduation applications due
Friday, April 14 – Good Friday, no classes, offices closed
Monday, April 17 – Classes resume
Monday, April 17 – Last day for CR/NC
Monday, April 17 – Last day for Withdraw
Monday-Friday, April 24-28 – Evening final exams
Friday, April 28 – Honors Convocation 
Monday, May 1 – Last day of classes before Day final exams
Tuesday, May 2 – Service Day, no classes
Wednesday-Friday, May 3-5 – Day Final exams
Sunday, May 7 – Baccalaureate and Commencement
Tuesday, May 9 – Grades due

Spring 2017 Finals Schedule

Wednesday, May 3
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 9 a.m. and NUR 203.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 11 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 1 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 2 p.m.
Thursday, May 4
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 8 a.m. and 9:30 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday between 9:30 a.m. and noon, and NUR 202.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday noon and 12:30 p.m.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled Tuesday and/or Thursday 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.
Friday, May 5
  • 8-10 a.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 8 a.m.
  • 10 a.m.-noon –Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 10 a.m.
  • 1-3 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at noon.
  • 3-5 p.m. – Classes scheduled MWF, MTWR, MTWF, WF & MW that begin at 3 p.m.

Evening and Online Finals – Monday-Friday, April 24-28

Online and Sioux Falls Campus – refer to the course syllabus

Summer 2017

May 1-June 25 – Summer Session I – 8-Week
May 8-June 19 – Summer Summer I – 6-Week
Monday, May 29 – Memorial Day, no classes, offices closed
Friday, June 23 – Spring incomplete grades due
June 26-Aug. 20 – Summer Session II – 8-Week 
June 26-Aug. 7 – Summer Session II – 6-Week
Tuesday, July 4 – Independence Day, no classes, offices closed

The calendar is subject to change due to forces beyond the university's control or as deemed necessary by the university in order to fulfill its educational objectives.

Courses that do not begin and end within the normal session time frame, status dates will be adjusted accordingly.

Students must attend their course by the third day or their registration will be cancelled, unless the instructor gives permission otherwise. For online courses, students must log in to the course by the end of third day. 

Please call the numbers below for assistance with the following:

  • Registration (enrolling in a class, drop/add, withdrawal) – 605-995-2642 or 995-2647.
  • Billing - 605-995-2693.
  • Financial Aid - 605-995-2656.