2019 winners of the Agnes Hyde Writing Contest announced

Posted on

The winners of this year’s Agnes Hyde Writing Contest at Dakota Wesleyan University have been announced.

This writing contest is open to all university students and submissions are judged on merit, which is determined by the quality of imagination and sophistication of thought shown by the work, the control of form and the writer’s skill in the use of language.

The following is a list of the winners of this year’s literary contest:


First place: Tessa Meyer, Parkston, with “Life Without Howie”

Second: Rachel Parsons, Milesville, with “Creatures Great and Small”


First place: Tessa Meyer, Parkston, with “Listless”

Second: Morgan Taft, Norris, with “A Feeling Freedom”


First place: Lillian Jones, Omaha, Neb., with “Found”

The Agnes Hyde Writing Contest was founded in 1985 by Dr. Joe Ditta, an English professor at DWU from 1983-2012. The original Agnes Hyde was a 1924 Dakota Wesleyan graduate and English professor at the university from 1946 to 1951.